BrightWorld

Dreams, Optimism, Wisdom

MEDITATION (POEM) April 5, 2015

MEDITATION (POEM)

 

IN FLIGHT (Poem 39)

Erle Frayne D. Argonza

Let me in flight bear the tricky vogue

Of breathing. ‘Tis no plain engulfing of air

Deep into our bag breathers and then breath-out.

Breathe the air of Life!

Don’t ever breathe like one who’ll later walk

Like an intoxicated cockroach dazed.

Don’t ever breathe so un-artfully whence later

You’re cast down as a phlegmatic mammal.

Breathe the substance of Life!

That’s when the pumping is gentle

And rubbish air is smoothly expired

And when sweat cast off debris

In strenuous flexing of the muscles.

The mind thereafter is cleansed

As one’s probing make the answers

To myriad questions bend upon the inner screen.

Breathing is a key to many doors

That lead me to my destinations.

[Writ. 19 Sept. 1987, Univ. of the Philippines, Quezon City, M.Manila.]

REFLECTION

Meditate. Learn to meditate, let it be a focal science and tool in your spiritual sojourn. This is what the poem is all about.

I began to meditate during my college days yet, circa 1979 or so. At first my meditation schedules were irregular, but after a bout with malaria that almost got me dead in August 1982, I decided to meditate regularly. By 1983 I was meditating for an hour a day, with some days when I would have two (2) meditation schedules.

My brain cells were already dying out due to smoking and drinking before that, I could feel my thought process atrophy, and so I decided to meditate regularly. Aside from that, I went back to my studies, to take up masters of arts (sociology), and so my regular voluminous reading got me back on the road to a lively mind. Meditation helped me to stabilize my health and make a quantum leap in my mental acumen as well at a time when I was back in school.

By 1988, at the age of 30, I was ready to pass on the meditation tools to enthused seekers. So that was how long it took, from 80 through 88, before I can confidently begin Teaching tasks. Fast forward to 1994 when I ascended to mystic phase, and was a full guru thereafter. Fast forward to 2008, when I spiritually ascended to rishi or White Robe phase. How could have I evolved soul-wise without meditation?

Ra

April 2011

@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@@

 

Leave a Reply

